Mothers Day

Okay. So it’s mothers day today. The day where we all give presents to our mums, make them breakfast in bed, take them out for lunch.

I gave my mum a purple frilly shower cap. I know she’ll use it, so that makes me feel better knowing that my present will be used so I know that it wasn’t $9.95 wasted (hey, it’s the thought that counts).

When asked about where Mum wanted to go for lunch, she replied “Pilu.” This restaurant is QUITE expensive, but hey, it is mothers day so naturally Dad said “of course, whatever you like.”

Now Pilu is a lovely restaurant on Freshwater Beach. It has a lovely view and great food, I had roast pork and it was y-u-m-m-y. Of course for my dad, the worst part of the day was paying for the meal. But like I said, it’s all about mum today, so it was all ok.

Nobody puts in anywhere near as much effort on Fathers Day as they do for Mothers Day. Is it because it’s harder to buy gifts for Dad? Are our mums more special?

Well mum, you gave birth to me so I commend you for that. You still loved me even though I was a little shit as a kid. You let me borrow your Prada handbag and you gave me your old Louis Vuitton.

But you gave me love. Lots of it. And I love you for that.

To all the mums out there, you all deserve a medal.

Happy Mothers Day!

Published in: on May 9, 2010 at 8:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://justharriet.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/mothers-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

